Skip to main content

Ivy League Universities

The Ivy League is an athletic conference comprising eight private institutions of higher education in the Northeastern United States. The conference name is also commonly used to refer to those eight schools as a group. The eight institutions are Brown University, Columbia University, Cornell University, Dartmouth College, Harvard University, Princeton University, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale University. The term Ivy League also has connotations of academic excellence, selectivity in admissions, and social elitism.  In addition, Ivy League schools are often viewed by the public as some of the most prestigious universities worldwide and are often ranked amongst the best universities in the United States and worldwide. All of the Ivy League's institutions place within the top 15 of the U.S. News & World Report college and university rankings; with five placing in the top six.

Institution Location Athletic nickname Undergraduate enrollment Motto
Brown University Providence, Rhode Island Bears 6,316 In Deo Speramus
(In God We Hope)
Columbia University New York City, New York Lions 7,160 In lumine Tuo videbimus lumen
(In Thy light shall we see the light)
Cornell University Ithaca, New York Big Red 13,931 I would found an institution where any person can find instruction in any study.
Dartmouth College Hanover, New Hampshire Big Green 4,248 Vox clamantis in deserto
(The voice of one crying in the wilderness)
Harvard University Cambridge, Massachusetts Crimson 6,655 Veritas
Princeton University Princeton, New Jersey Tigers 5,113 Dei sub numine viget
(Under God's power she flourishes)
University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Quakers 10,337 Leges sine moribus vanae
(Laws without morals are useless)
Yale University New Haven, Connecticut Bulldogs 5,275 Lux et veritas
(Light and truth)

The Ivy League Schools use the Common Application.

Apply through the Common App.